Blur – Modern Life Is Rubbish (New Vinyl) (Limited Edition) (Orange Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2023 30th anniversary limited edition remastered reissue on transparent orange coloured vinyl. Limited to 5000 copies. Gatefold jacket with printed inner sleeves. Pressed at Optimal Media in Germany.

Modern Life Is Rubbish is the second studio album by the English alternative rock band Blur, released in May 1993. Although their debut album Leisure (1991) had been commercially successful, Blur faced a severe media backlash soon after its release, and fell out of public favour. After the group returned from an unsuccessful tour of the United States, poorly received live performances and the rising popularity of rival band Suede further diminished Blur's status in the UK.

Under threat of being dropped by Food Records, for their next album Blur underwent an image makeover championed by frontman Damon Albarn. The band incorporated influences from traditional British guitar-pop groups such as the Kinks and the Small Faces, and the resulting sound was melodic and lushly produced, featuring brass, woodwind and backing vocalists. Albarn's lyrics on Modern Life Is Rubbish use "poignant humour and Ray Davies characterisation to investigate the dreams, traditions and prejudices of suburban England", according to writer David Cavanagh.

Modern Life Is Rubbish was a moderate chart success in the UK; the album peaked at number 15, while the singles taken from the album charted in the Top 30. Applauded by the music press, the album's Anglocentric rhetoric rejuvenated the group's fortunes after their post-Leisure slump. Modern Life Is Rubbish is regarded as one of the defining releases of the Britpop scene, and its chart-topping follow-ups—Parklife and The Great Escape—saw Blur emerge as one of Britain's leading pop acts.


A1 For Tomorrow
A2 Advert
A3 Colin Zeal
A4 Pressure On Julian
B1 Star Shaped
B2 Blue Jeans
B3 Chemical World
B4 Intermission
C1 Sunday Sunday
C2 Oily Water
C3 Miss America
C4 Villa Rosie
D1 Coping
D2 Turn It Up
D3 Resigned
D4 Commercial Break

SKU: 5054197543296