Blind Melon – Soup (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2017 reissue on high quality 180 gram heavyweight vinyl.

Soup is the second studio album by American rock band Blind Melon, released on August 15, 1995. The album was released eight weeks before vocalist Shannon Hoon's fatal drug overdose, making it his final album with the band, though it was not their last release with him, as his posthumously released work was included on the next album Nico. It reached number 28 on the US Billboard 200 albums chart. 

Thematically, the album is much darker than the band's debut. "2 X 4" is about Hoon's experience at a drug detox, while the lyrics to the acoustic ballad "Walk" cryptically reference his addiction and attempts to recovery. "Skinned" is about murderer Ed Gein. "Car Seat (God's Presents)" is about Susan Smith, who killed her children by driving her car into a lake in Union, South Carolina. "St. Andrew's Fall" is about suicide. When asked about "Mouthful of Cavities", Rogers Stevens said, "It's probably about the convoluted nooks and crannies of Shannon's brain." It featured harmonies between Hoon and Jena Kraus. "New Life" is about the birth of Hoon's daughter Nico Blue. "Wilt" is about halitosis. "Galaxie" is about Hoon's struggle with addiction, and experience with his car, a 1964 Ford Galaxie. "Lemonade" is a humorous song about a bar fight.

In 2020, the Grammy site posted an article entitled How Blind Melon Lost Their Minds & Made A Masterpiece: 'Soup' Turns 25, that stated "Soup has quietly become a dark-horse favorite of the alt-rock era among fans and critics."


A1 Galaxie
A2 2x4
A3 Vernie
A4 Skinned
A5 Toes Across The Floor
A6 Walk
A7 Dumptruck
A8 Car Seat (God's Present)
B1 Wilt
B2 The Duke
B3 St. Andrew's Fall
B4 New Life
B5 Mouthful Of Cavities
B6 Lemonade

SKU: 0600753766248