Bill Withers – Bill Withers Live At Carnegie Hall (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2012 reissue on 180 gram audiophile vinyl.

Live at Carnegie Hall is a live album by American soul singer-songwriter and producer Bill Withers. The album was recorded on October 6, 1972, at Carnegie Hall in New York City and released on April 21, 1973, by Sussex Records as a double LP. On October 28, 1997, it was reissued as a single CD by Columbia/Legacy.

Reviewing in Christgau's Record Guide: Rock Albums of the Seventies (1981), Robert Christgau wrote: "Hearing Withers urge the audience on, as drummer James Gadson and pianist-arranger Ray Jackson drive their crack combo, really wipes out the man's MOR aura—nobody else in the music combines hard rhythms and warm sensuality so knowingly. A natural shouter who raises his voice judiciously and a deliberate wryly moralistic rapper, his authority comes through even when you can't see him frowning mildly in his unshowy Saturday-night sports clothes. Two of the five new songs lean on friendship themes, and that's one too many, but the old ones are live indeed. Knockout: the encore, 'Harlem/Cold Baloney,' all 13:07 of it."


A1 Use One 
A2 Friend Of Mine 
A3 Ain't No Sunshine 
A4 Grandma's Hands (With Rap) 
B1 World Keeps Going Around 
B2 Let Me In Your Life (With Rap) 
B3 Better Off Dead 
B4 For My Friend 
C1 I Can't Write Left Handed
C2 Lean On Me 
C3 Lonely Town Lonely Street 
C4 Hope She'll Be Happier 
D1 Let Us Love 
D2 Harlem/Cold Baloney

SKU: 8713748982867