Aretha Franklin – The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 (New Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. Mono remastered compilation with lacquer cut by Kevin Gray. Pressed at MPO.

The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967–1970 is a compilation album of singer Aretha Franklin, released by Rhino Records in September 2018. The album contains her first 17 singles for Atlantic Records released in the United States from her debut for the label "I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You)" of February 1967 through "Border Song (Holy Moses)" of October 1970. The original recordings were produced by Jerry Wexler, at times in collaboration with Tom Dowd and Arif Mardin.

Most of these singles, both A and b sides, appeared on the Atlantic Records albums released by Franklin during the same years. Some singles were released ahead of those albums, with others appearing on the market after the album. All 17 A-sides made the Top 40 on the Billboard Hot 100, while the first eight all charted in the top ten including her chart-topping signature song, "Respect." Six b-sides also made the Billboard chart independently, with her version of "I Say a Little Prayer" also making the top ten. Missing is her 1968 version of "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" released as a single in the United Kingdom only.

These singles are arguably the greatest work of Franklin's career. Of the 34 tracks on this set, seven appear on the Billboard list of her ten greatest songs, 16 appear on the Rolling Stone list of Franklin's greatest 50 songs, while half of the tally for Franklin's 20 essential songs according to The New York Times appear on this set.

Most tracks were recorded at Atlantic Studios in New York City with session musicians from FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama. Franklin's initial session for Atlantic took place at the Fame Studios in Muscle Shoals, and two additional sessions took place at Criteria Studios in Miami. The Dixie Flyers credit refers to the musicians at the Criteria sessions.


A1 I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Loved You) 
A2 Do Right Woman - Do Right Man 
A3 Respect 
A4 Baby I Love You 
A5 A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like) 
A6 Chain Of Fools 
B1 (Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone 
B2 Ain't No Way 
B3 Think 
B4 You Send Me 
B5 The House That Jack Built 
B6 I Say A Little Prayer 
C1 See Saw 
C2 My Song 
C3 The Weight 
C4 Tracks Of My Tears 
C5 I Can't See Myself Leaving You 
C6 Gentle On My Mind 
C7 Share Your Love With Me 
D1 Eleanor Rigby 
D2 Call Me 
D3 Son Of A Preacher Man 
D4 Spirit In The Dark
D5 Don't Play That Song
D6 Border Song (Holy Moses)

SKU: 0603497858040