Aphex Twin – Richard D. James Album (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2020 reissue on 180 gram black vinyl.

Richard D. James Album is the eponymous fourth studio album by Irish-British electronic musician Richard D. James, under his pseudonym Aphex Twin. In the United Kingdom, the album was released on 4 November 1996 through Warp Records. In the United States, it was released on 28 January 1997 by Sire Records, with the Girl/Boy EP included as bonus tracks. A reissue on vinyl was released on 18 September 2012.

Richard D. James Album was composed by James on his Macintosh computer, and took longer to complete than his previous efforts. The album features faster breakbeats and intricate drum programming which draw influence from jungle and drum and bass, combined with lush string arrangements, unstable time signatures, and slow ambient melodies reminiscent of James' earlier work, as well as modulated vocals by James.

Richard D. James Album was less successful in the United Kingdom than James' two previous albums Selected Ambient Works Volume II (1994) and ...I Care Because You Do (1995). However, the album still charted in the UK, peaking at number 62 on the UK Albums Chart for one week. It also peaked at number 20 in the US Top Heatseekers list, becoming James' first to do so. The album received acclaim from music critics, and NME listed it as the 20th best album of the year.


A1 4 
A2 Cornish Acid 
A3 Peek 824545201 
A4 Fingerbib 
A5 Carn Marth 
B1 To Cure A Weakling Child 
B2 Goon Gumpas 
B3 Yellow Calx 
B4 Girl/Boy Song 
B5 Logan-Rock Witch

SKU: 0801061004316