Allie X – Girl With No Face (New Vinyl) (Limited Edition) (Oxblood Vinyl)



New sealed copy. Limited edition on Oxblood coloured vinyl.

Girl with No Face is the third studio album by Canadian avant-pop singer Allie X, released on February 23, 2024, by Twin Music and distributed by AWAL. The album was nearly entirely written and produced by Allie X during the four years following her previous studio album Cape God (2020).

Allie X first announced the album in Rolling Stone on November 16, 2023, describing it as "aggressive, indulgent and bold." On the creation of the album the singer said, "I’m not going to be trying to please anyone else, because there’s literally no one else in this room. I may have created something that’s completely off-trend here, but it’s definitely something that I enjoy." The album's title, cover, and music videos allude to an overarching theme of identity, with Allie X saying "I feel like there was a sort of death that happened, like an erasure of maybe previous identities, and rather than emerging with a fully-formed new identity, I feel like I’m still in progress, I’m figuring it out. I like the idea that masks are flexible in that way. They’re a protection. I’m starting to think that maybe that’s the way that I want to go through life."

The album features a synthesizer-heavy retro pop sound inspired by the 1980s and late 1970s, with comparisons drawn to Joy Division, Cocteau Twins, Blondie, Vince Clarke, Kate Bush, Madonna, Kraftwerk, a-Ha, The Human League, The B-52s, and Talking Heads. Synth-pop features prominently on songs like "Weird World" "Truly Dreams", "John and Jonathan", while "Hardware/Software" and "Truly Dreams" explore new wave and disco, respectively.


A1 Weird World
A2 Girl With No Face
A3 Off With Her Tits
A4 John And Jonathan
A5 Galina
A6 Hardware / Software
B1 Black Eye
B2 You Slept On Me
B3 Saddest Smile
B4 Staying Power
B5 Truly Dreams

SKU: 5056167179153