Alicia Keys – Songs In A Minor (New Vinyl) (10th Anniversary Edition)

Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. 2011 remastered reissue on 180 gram black vinyl. First pressing on vinyl.

Songs in A Minor is the debut studio album by American singer and songwriter Alicia Keys, released on June 5, 2001, by J Records.

Keys began writing songs for the album in 1995 at age 14 and recording the album in 1998 for Columbia Records, but after they rejected it, she signed a recording contract with Clive Davis's Arista Records and eventually J Records. An accomplished, classically trained pianist, Keys wrote, arranged and produced the majority of the album herself. It is a neo soul album with elements of R&B, soul, jazz, hip hop, blues, classical, and gospel music. Lyrically, the songs explore the complexities and various stages of personal relationships. Despite the album's title, only two songs, "Jane Doe" and "Mr. Man," are actually in the key of A minor.

Songs in A Minor debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200, selling 236,000 copies in its first week. The album has since sold over 7 million copies in the United States and 12 million copies worldwide. It was also an immediate critical success and has since been regarded as a classic. The album earned Keys several accolades, including five Grammy Awards at the 44th Annual Grammy Awards. To promote the album, Keys embarked on her first headlining concert tour, entitled Songs in A Minor Tour.

In 2022, the album was selected by the Library of Congress for preservation in the National Recording Registry.


A1 Piano & I
A2 Girlfriend
A3 How Come You Don't Call Me
A4 Fallin'
A5 Troubles
B1 Rock Wit U
B2 A Woman's Worth
B3 Jane Doe
C1 Goodbye
C2 The Life
C3 Mr. Man
D1 Never Felt This Way (Interlude)
D2 Butterflyz
D3 Why Do I Feel So Sad
D4 Caged Bird
D5 Lovin U

SKU: 0886979064218