Alexisonfire – Watch Out! (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. 2014 reissue. 45 RPM. Gatefold jacket.

Watch Out! is the second studio album from Canadian post-hardcore band Alexisonfire, released on June 8, 2004. The album debuted at number 6 on the Canadian Albums Chart, selling 6,580 copies in its first week of release, and was certified Platinum (indicating sales of over 100,000 copies) by the Canadian Recording Industry Association (CRIA) in 2007.

The album was met with generally favourable reviews from music critics. AllMusic reviewer Johnny Loftus wrote that the band "discovered a new yen for moody exploration, and fill the middle of Watch Out! with battered water wings that float on waves of emotion and reverb", though the album "really only refines what Alexisonfire already had the chops and lyrical potential for." Keith Carman of Chart Attack opened his review by stating that the "worst part" about the album was that it was "a massive step up" from their debut. He added that it was "[m]ore experimental without alienating their inherent style," with a "stronger fusion of thunderous metal riffs and throat-tearing vocals". IGN's JR called the album "a fine disc, but boy, things have changed." He went on to note the increase on melodic vocals and the decrease in screaming, which was "a major adjustment, but it makes Watch Out! feel considerably more balanced".

Ox-Fanzine writer Christian Meinders said that the band "perfected their style [of screamo], to put it positively, or the edges that could still be heard on the debut were rounded off to put it less positively." staff member Jordan Rogowski wrote that issues with their debut, such as lack of replay ability and poor production, were "remedied this time around." He went on further to add that "[e]very screamed vocal, and every single chord is dripping with passion and urgency, and it's all put together masterfully." Dylan Young of Now noted that the "very qualities that strengthened this screamo band's debut are intact: the music is anthemic, the screaming fury impossibly difficult to understand, and the lyrics (when discernable) slightly above par."


A1 Accidents 
A2 Control 
A3 It Was Fear Of Myself That Made Me Odd 
B1 Side Walk When She Walks 
B2 "Hey, It's Your Funeral Mama'' 
B3 No Transitory 
C1 Sharks And Danger 
C2 That Girl Possessed 
C3 White Devil 
D1 Get Fighted 
D2 Happiness By The Kilowatt

SKU: 0821826007734