Primus – Brown Album (New Vinyl)



New sealed copy. Remastered reissue on 180 gram black vinyl. 

Brown Album is the fifth studio album by the American rock band Primus. It was released on July 8, 1997. It was the first Primus release to not feature drummer Tim "Herb" Alexander and the first to feature Bryan "Brain" Mantia. Les Claypool stated "Herb's departure was like a marriage that just slowly decayed to an end ... When it came down to it, we came very close to dissolving entirely, to ending Primus. I went to Ler and said, 'Look, I'm not content anymore. We've got a good thing going between us and we should probably get a new drummer.' When we talked to Herb about it, he wasn't surprised at all--in fact he seemed very relieved. He's got his own thing now. He's writing and singing [with his new band, Laundry] and he's much happier." Regarding the name of the album, Claypool said "This is a milestone record for Primus so it needed to have a milestone title. The Beatles have their White Album, Metallica have their Black Album, now Primus have their Brown Album."

According to Brain, the album was called the Brown Album because of the way the band approached the recording session; the mixes were done in the most unconventional ways that sounded like a "muffled turd", hence the album title.


A1 The Return Of Sathington Willoughby 
A2 Fisticuffs 
A3 Golden Boy 
A4 Over The Falls 
B1 Shake Hands With Beef 
B2 Camelback Cinema 
B3 Hats Off 
B4 Puddin' Taine 
C1 Bob's Party Time Lounge 
C2 Duchess And The Proverbial Mind Spread 
C3 Restin' Bones 
D1 Coddingtown 
D2 Kalamazoo 
D3 The Chastising Of Renegade 
D4 Arnie

SKU: 0602557539462