The Beatles – 1962-1966 (New Vinyl) (Red Album)



New sealed copy. 2014 reissue.

1962–1966, also known as the Red Album, is a compilation album of hit songs by the English rock band the Beatles, spanning the years indicated in the title. Released with its counterpart 1967–1970 (the "Blue Album") in 1973, the double LP peaked at number 3 in the United Kingdom. In the United States, it topped the Cash Box albums chart and peaked at number 3 on the Billboard Top LPs & Tape chart while 1967–1970 reached the top spot. The album was re-released in September 1993 on compact disc, charting at number 3 in the UK.

The album was instigated by Apple Records manager Allen Klein shortly before he was dismissed from his position. Even though the group had success with cover versions of songs, particularly "Twist and Shout", 1962–1966 contains only songs composed by the Beatles. The album omits any George Harrison compositions from the era, such as "Taxman", as the content is entirely Lennon–McCartney originals.

As with 1967–1970, the compilation was created by Apple and EMI/Capitol Records in response to a bootleg collection titled Alpha Omega, which had been sold on television the previous year. Print advertising for the two records made a point of declaring them "the only authorized collection of the Beatles".


A1 Love Me Do 
A2 Please Please Me 
A3 From Me To You 
A4 She Loves You 
A5 I Want To Hold Your Hand 
A6 All My Loving 
A7 Can't Buy Me Love 
B1 A Hard Day's Night 
B2 And I Love Her 
B3 Eight Days A Week 
B4 I Feel Fine 
B5 Ticket To Ride 
B6 Yesterday 
C1 Help! 
C2 You've Got To Hide Your Love Away 
C3 We Can Work It Out 
C4 Day Tripper 
C5 Drive My Car 
C6 Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown) 
D1 Nowhere Man 
D2 Michelle 
D3 In My Life 
D4 Girl 
D5 Paperback Writer 
D6 Eleanor Rigby 
D7 Yellow Submarine