John Coltrane ‎– Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album (New Vinyl) (Deluxe Edition)



New sealed copy. Deluxe Edition. Mono 180 gram black vinyl. Includes fold out poster.

Both Directions at Once: The Lost Album is a studio album recorded by saxophonist John Coltrane for Impulse! Records that was first released in 2018. The recordings were made in 1963 during Coltrane's Classic Quartet period and lost for decades.

To cut down on storage space, Impulse! Records destroyed the master tape, and the recording was lost for decades. The seven tracks on Both Directions survived as a copy Coltrane gave to his first wife, Juanita Naima. Van Gelder made a separate copy for Coltrane to listen to at home. In 2005, after the Guernsey's auction house announced plans to sell Coltrane-related artefacts, the record company intervened to acquire the tapes. Coltrane's son Ravi and studio executive Ken Druker assembled the final album with liner notes written by Ashley Kahn.


A1 Untitled Original 11383 (Take 1)

A2 Nature Boy

A3 Untitled Original 11386 (Take 1)

A4 Vilia (Take 3)

B1 Impressions (Take 3)

B2 Slow Blues

B3 One Up, One Down (Take 1)

C1 Vilia (Take 5)

C2 Impressions (Take 1)

C3 Impressions (Take 2)

C4 Impressions (Take 4)

D1 Untitled Original 11386 (Take 2)

D2 Untitled Original 11386 (Take 5)

D3 One Up, One Down (Take 6)