James – Stutter (Used Vinyl)

Low stock - 1 available


Original 1986 Canadian first pressing on Sire. 

Vinyl Condition: VG+

Sleeve Condition: VG+

Stutter is the debut studio album by English rock band James. Blanco y Negro and Sire Records released it on 28 July 1986. After going through multiple vocalists and guitarists, the band caught the attention of Factory Records. James released two EPs with the label; between them Larry Gott replaced guitarist Paul Gilbertson. The band supported the Smiths twice, before eventually signing with Sire. Between January and March 1986, the band recorded Stutter with Patti Smith live guitarist Lenny Kaye and engineer Gil Norton. Described as a folk rock album, the songs on Stutter tackle the topics of insects, reincarnation and being a tortured artist.

Stutter received generally positive reviews from music critics, some of whom commented on James' musicianship. It peaked at number 68 in the United Kingdom, to the annoyance of Sire. The album appeared on several publications' best-of-the-year album lists including The Face, NME, and Spex. "So Many Ways" was released as the lead single in June 1986 followed by an appearance at the WOMAD Festival. The band embarked on a brief tour of the UK and Europe.


A1 Skullduggery 
A2 Scarecrow 
A3 So Many Ways 
A4 Just Hip 
A5 Johnny Yen 
A6 Summer Song 
B1 Really Hard 
B2 Billys Shirts 
B3 Why So Close 
B4 Withdrawn 
B5 Black Hole