Afghan Whigs ‎– Congregation (New Vinyl) (Limited Edition) (Red & White Swirl Vinyl)

Colour - Multicoloured
Low stock - 1 available


New sealed copy. Sub Pop Loser Edition, Limited Edition 45RPM reissue on 180 gram red and white swirl coloured vinyl.

Congregation is the third studio album by American alternative rock band The Afghan Whigs, released on January 31, 1992, by Sub Pop. After touring for two years in support of their 1990 album Up in It, the band received $15,000 advance from Sub Pop to record a follow-up album. It was primarily recorded at Bear Creek Studios in Woodinville and Buzz's Kitchen in Los Angeles during July to August 1991. The band's frontman Greg Dulli produced the album entirely with audio engineer Ross Ian Stein. The album's production and release were hindered by Sub Pop's financial difficulties, which were eventually resolved by the massive commercial success of Nirvana's 1991 album Nevermind.

Expanding on the aggressive sound of the band's previous work, Congregation has more refined musical details and slower songs such as ballads. Its music also incorporates R&B, soul, and funk influences. The album's cover depicts a nude black woman holding a white baby in her arms and alludes comically to the band's African-American music influences. The songs explore themes of pleasure and guilt in the context of dysfunctional relationships and sexual deviancy. Conceived during the burgeoning grunge scene, the album has been viewed by music writers as stylistically distinct from other Sub Pop and grunge music.


A1 Her Against Me

A2 I'm Her Slave

A3 Turn On The Water

B1 Conjure Me

B2 Kiss The Floor

B3 Congregation

C1 This Is My Confession

C2 Dedicate It

C3 The Temple

D1 Let Me Lie To You

D2 Tonight

D3 Miles Iz Ded